scan+import doesn't import music files

Having trouble installing AmpJuke ?
Check this.

scan+import doesn't import music files

Postby paul on 12-01-2010 06:44

Hello Michael,

I am totally out of ideas, I tried everything possible. I followed your 9 steps guide and everything went smoothly but it doesn't import my music file.
I am using fedora 12.
Permissions are 777 on music directory and music file.
My music file, a single mp3 song is located in /home/paul/Downloads/music/abcd.mp3
Now / home paul Downloads , all these 4 directories have drwx---r-x, so group "others" have read and execute and music and abcd.mp3 have 777 just as you suggested in forum. Yet my scan report says this:

*** SCAN REPORT ***
*** Settings ***
Complain about missing permissions on folders: Yes

And I tried blue pill and red pill.
I read a thread where similar issue was discussed and was solved when that person created directories for mp3 files based on artists. I tried that too, I created another folder in music directory like /home/paul/Downloads/music/1/abcd.mp3 and moved the mp3 file into it and permissions again 777. Still doesn't help. I am using version ampjuke-0.8.1.
Database and all its tables got created without a problem.
What else can I do ? will you please help me with this.

Thanks,
Paul
paul
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12-01-2010 06:28

Re: scan+import doesn't import music files

Postby Michael on 12-01-2010 09:55

Hi Paul,

Thanks for posting and welcome to the AmpJuke forum.

Based on your detailed description, I have some suggestions, as follows:
1. Change everything to 777. Incl. the "Downloads" folder.
I know you apparently already did that, but please check.

2. Are there any missing tags on abcd.mp3 ? And did you set your scan+import to avoid importing music wo. the missing tags ? More info. in this FAQ-entry: http://www.ampjuke.org/faq.php?q_id=55.

Try and set "Show details during scan+import" to "Very detailed", - if it still fails, I'll be happy to take a look at whatever is written to the log.

Hope this helps. If not, please update the thread (well...feel free to do so in any case).

//Michael.
User avatar
Michael
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 449
Joined: 03-07-2007 13:46
Location: Denmark

Re: scan+import doesn't import music files

Postby paul on 12-01-2010 13:38

Ok I moved the music folder to right under / so, now its /music and permissions are 777, on the folder itself and the song inside.
Everything is unchecked in the scan page except 'complain about missing permissions on folders'
if/when tags are missing - chose OK on every option
With the above changes it was able to find the track. Thank you very much. My suggestion, default values in those tags could've been all OK rather than going all around the world to find whats missing.
But it doesn't play the track, please help me how to play. popups are allowed but nothing shows up in the popup page.

This is the scan report:
Whats weird in this scan report is it shows it found 3 tracks, while the music directory has absolutely one.

*** SCAN REPORT ***
*** Settings ***
Complain about missing permissions on folders: Yes
Delete "dead" records:No
Active cutoff date:No
Skip tracks w. low bitrate:No
Re-process tracks found in database and on filesystem:No
Simulate import: No
Missing tag in track number is: OK
Missing tag in year is: OK
Missing tag in album name is: OK
Missing tag in performer name is: OK
Missing tag in track name is: OK
Import warnings: No
Import errors: No
*** Totals ***
Number of folders: 2
Number of folders not read: 0
Number of tracks: 3
Number of new tracks: 1
Number of tracks not read: 2
Warnings: 0
Errors: 0
Number of tracks re-processed: 0
*** Folders not read ***
Folders that cannot be read: 0


*** New tracks ***
New track: /music/Track06.mp3
Number of new tracks discovered: 1
*** Warnings ***
Total warnings: 0
*** Errors ***
Total errors: 0
*** Reprocessed tracks ***
Number of tracks re-processed: 0
paul
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12-01-2010 06:28

Re: scan+import doesn't import music files

Postby Michael on 12-01-2010 15:22

Great. Now we're getting somewhere.

In relation to default values: I think default settings are fair. I don't think anyone would allow import of a track without performer/artist name and/or missing track name.
A missing year might be OK (think it's a "warning" per default now), - I'll consider it.
Yes - there are many settings - most of them came to life based on suggestions in the "Requests/suggestions" part of this forum.

In relation to weird numbers: Ouch...seems like it's counting "." and ".." when counting tracks (in your case: you get 3 instead of 1). I'll correct it for a later release. Thanks for notifying.

In relation to playing: Sorry - I can only offer hints, - not a solution:
Can you play the track outside AmpJuke ?
Can you play the track using the flash-player ? ...or perhaps play it without it ?
Is "now playing" turned off ?
Is transcoding turned off ?

//Michael.
User avatar
Michael
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 449
Joined: 03-07-2007 13:46
Location: Denmark

Re: scan+import doesn't import music files

Postby paul on 14-01-2010 01:29

Hi Michael,

sorry for replying late. After enabling flash player in configuration, I was able to play the track in the browser itself.
yes, probably its counting the . and .. but who cares as long it can play the tracks.
I am so happy I got it working finally. Thank you very much for your help. I am sure this thread will be helpful for others.

p.s. After all this, why does it still say 'yes' to 'complain about missing folder permissions'???
paul
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12-01-2010 06:28

Re: scan+import doesn't import music files

Postby Michael on 14-01-2010 09:33

Hi paul,

Great you got it working. Thanks for the feedback.

I'm sure the thread might help others as well.

//Michael.

P.S. It's a default value in scan+import.
User avatar
Michael
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 449
Joined: 03-07-2007 13:46
Location: Denmark


Return to Installation / support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron