Unable to scan music

Having trouble installing AmpJuke ?
Check this.

Unable to scan music

Postby mikephagan on 26-03-2011 10:59

I'm having a little difficulty in scanning my music collection. From viewing these forums, I've managed to correct a few other errors I was getting.

Started off getting the error "SQL: Could not select database !". Searched for this on the forums, corrected by hard coding the user info & db name in 'sql.php' to:

Code: Select all
$db_host='localhost';
$db_user='my username';
$db_password='my password';
$connection=mysql_connect($db_host,$db_user,$db_password) or die('SQL: Could not connect.');
$db_name='ampjuke';
mysql_select_db($db_name) or die('SQL: Could not select database !');


Now I get the error:

CANNOT: SELECT * FROM track WHERE path="C:\Music/Electro/SAM/2006 - Synthetic Adrenaline Music/01 - Epic.mp3" LIMIT 0,1

Note: Be very very, very patient ! This might take a long time.
Build list of folders...
Scan+import tracks in folder: C:\Music/
Scan+import tracks in folder: C:\Music/Electro/
Scan+import tracks in folder: C:\Music/Electro/SAM/
Scan+import tracks in folder: C:\Music/Electro/SAM/2006 - Synthetic Adrenaline Music/


It stops here. I've removed countless folders from my music collection to see if maybe the files are bad but the scan gives the above error then stops scanning at the first album.

I'm stuck and don't know how to proceed. I'm running AmpJuke on XAMPP in Windows XP Pro.
mikephagan
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-03-2011 07:42

Re: Unable to scan music

Postby Michael on 28-03-2011 14:15

Hi Mike,

Welcome to the AmpJuke forum and thanks for posting.

Unfortunately, I'm not able to access a working version of AmpJuke on a Windows computer right now.

However, my guess in relation to what you described in your post is that 'something' might have gone wrong during installation (there's an installation example here: http://www.ampjuke.org/?id=installation).

If you did install it using table prefixes, you should punch that in in your hard coded stuff mentioned previously.
In other words, there should be a
Code: Select all
$ampjuke_tbl_prefix="whatever_prefix_name_you_chose_";

...in the section you hard coded.

Hope some of this helps.
If not, please post an update (feel free to do so in any case).

//Michael.
User avatar
Michael
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 449
Joined: 03-07-2007 13:46
Location: Denmark

Re: Unable to scan music

Postby mikephagan on 01-04-2011 02:09

Thank you, this solved the problem I was having.

Although now a new problem has popped up.

When scanning my mp3s, this is what happens and it stops:

Build list of folders...
Scan+import tracks in folder: C:/Music/
Scan+import tracks in folder: C:/Music/Electro/
Scan+import tracks in folder: C:/Music/Electro/SAM/
Scan+import tracks in folder: C:/Music/Electro/SAM/2006 - Synthetic Adrenaline Music/
No performer: C:/Music/Electro/SAM/2006 - Synthetic Adrenaline Music/SAM - 01 - Epic.mp3
No track name: C:/Music/Electro/SAM/2006 - Synthetic Adrenaline Music/SAM - 01 - Epic.mp3
No year
No track number


I've checked and rechecked, all the files in my collection have the Performer, Track Name, Year, Track #, etc all set. All the information is there.

I've checked this with dozens of mp3s and each one has same issue.
mikephagan
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 26-03-2011 07:42

Re: Unable to scan music

Postby Michael on 03-04-2011 12:28

Great you got the scan-stuff working :D

You mentioned about "valid tags" vs. what's actually found during scan-+import.
I've experienced something like this myself a few times: Even though a file appears to look fine in relation to track# etc. it might contain empty/missing tags in either the ID3v1 or ID3v2 part of a given music file.

I *think* Getid3() looks for ID3v1 information and - if nothing is found - looks for ID3v2.
I'm checking for this in my own music collection using winamp.

In other words: Even though a track appears to look fine in a media player, the tags (v1 and v2) might differ.

It's a little bit hard to explain...
My best suggestion is that you inspect a track in Winamp. It's capable of showing what's in the ID3v1 and ID3v2 tags, - other programs just displays what's "appropriate".

Hope this makes sense (really). If not, please post an update.

//Michael.

P.S. The ID3v1 and -v2 is explained in detail here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ID3
User avatar
Michael
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 449
Joined: 03-07-2007 13:46
Location: Denmark


Return to Installation / support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron